Why are you reading this? Scroll down for the good stuff.

Wish me luck…

I love working with the people I currently work with.. I am a people person so even when I don’t particularly like the people I work with.. I find a way to make it work..

Well.. The place I currently work.. I love it.. I love shopping there.. I like working there.. The issue is.. It isn’t the hours I wanted.. I wanted 24 hours a week maximum.. I wanted days.. And I wanted Saturday off..

None of which I am getting..

I am working closes.. 9 hour shifts.. & every Saturday so far.. Except my last one.. It was supposed to be a day off in the first place.. But they booked me for that day part way through the week and didn’t tell me..

When I finally found out.. I had no sitter for the shift so I told them absolutely not.

Now.. They are looking for someone to work day shifts at the store I originally applied at…

*Waves hand in the air jumping up and down*

Me! Me! Me!

I want it… You know… The hours and location I applied for…

Don’t hire someone else for it.. I am right here..

Oh but Big mama.. You sell so well and we are retail.. We need you to work evenings and weekends to make money…

Ummmm.. No you don’t.. Every employee is expendable… All the time.. Don’t ever make an employee feel irreplaceable..

Valued yes.. Irreplaceable.. No

I went job hunting today and got a job for a place I know I won’t enjoy as much as where I work now.. But the pay is the same.. It is the hours I want.. And I will be home for dinner every night..

My problem is.. What job do I keep?

The less desirable job because it is the hours I want??
Or the more desirable job but risk losing it by using the New job as leverage?

I can always fall back on the less desirable job I suppose if the other wants to let me go for looking for a job while employed by them..

What makes matters worse right now is that I am working for minimum wage.. And everyone willing/able to take care of my babies are expecting 150% of my pay check.. They are asking to get paid $15 an hour when I am making $10.25 -deductions.. In what UNIVERSE am I supposed to afford this?!?!?!?!?

Aaaaaaaaaaaaaand.. The baby is teething.. And not taking it well at all.. She has been needy and clingy and fussy all day long.. For a few days now.. All I want to do is curl up with her and snuggle her until the pain goes away.. Does anyone know a job that will pay for that?? I will drop both my current jobs for that one in a heartbeat..

image

Comments on: "The great hour debate." (3)

  1. Is it just me.. Or is it weird when I call myself big mama on behalf of my boss?? Haha

    Perhaps I have finally cracked.. It was bound to happen sooner or later..

  2. Wonderful points altogether, you simply received a emblem new reader. What could you recommend in regards to your put up that you just made some days ago? Any positive?

    • I have choosen the New job. The hours are more reliable. Sorry it took so long to reply.. I don’t yet understand how to do this wordpress thing..

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

